Startseite

Fallstudien


Referenzen

Fallstudien


Referenzen

Startseite > Industriell > Referenzen

Kraftwerk Comanche, Colorado

"Ich mache mir keine Sorgen wegen der Garantie von Galebreaker; wir haben ihr Produkt seit über 6 Jahren ohne ein einziges Problem installiert. Ich habe mich für ihr Material entschieden, weil es das beste in der Branche ist und alles überdauern wird, was wir bisher verwendet haben.

Ruben Roman, Senior. Betriebsleiter, Xcel Energy.


Kraftwerk Comanche, Colorado

"Das Design und die Installation von Galebreaker sind völlig wartungsfrei und weitaus besser als die von uns gebauten Schirme. Wir hatten ständig Probleme mit der Wartung unserer selbstgebauten Schirme, insbesondere mit den Kabelbindern, die sich bei starkem Wind lösten. Wir hätten Zeit und Geld gespart, wenn wir von vornherein Galebreaker Wind Shields installiert hätten. Gute Arbeit, Galebreaker, ein sehr professionelles Produkt, das unsere Windprobleme löst.

Ron Lungu, Leiter des Werks Comanche.


Caithness Long Island Energiezentrum, USA

"Aufgrund der schweren Stürme, die wir auf Long Island erleben können, müssen die Ventilatorflügel in Caithness mit den Belastungen durch starke Windturbulenzen fertig werden. Nach dem Einbau der Galebreaker Wind Shields war sofort klar, dass ein gleichmäßigerer Luftstrom in die luvseitigen Perimeterlüfter eintritt. Erste Tests haben gezeigt, dass die Belastung der Ventilatorflügel deutlich reduziert wurde. Das ist eine gute Nachricht für das Energiezentrum.

Gary Mirsky, unabhängiger Berater.


Kraftwerk Spalding, UK

"Im Jahr 2006 hatten wir erhebliche Leistungsprobleme mit dem ACC, und einer der Hauptgründe dafür waren hohe Windgeschwindigkeiten. Die Einführung von Galebreaker Wind Shields als Teil unseres ACC-Optimierungsprogramms hat in den Jahren 2007 und 2008 zu hervorragenden Leistungsverbesserungen geführt."

Paul Hanson, Geschäftsführer.


Hsin Tao, Taiwan

"Bei warmen und windigen Bedingungen hatte die ACC-Anlage in Hsin Tao in Taiwan Leistungsprobleme, insbesondere schlechte Vakuummessungen am Ausgang der Dampfturbine. Nach dem Einbau der Galebreaker Wind Shields wurden diese spezifischen Probleme beseitigt."

Colin Popple, GE Facilities Manager.


Ford's Driveability Testanlage, Michigan

"Nachdem die Gitter installiert waren, war unser Problem so gut wie beseitigt. Es gibt immer noch zwei sehr hartnäckige Tauben, die ein Loch gefunden haben und sich hineinschleichen können, aber abgesehen von diesen lästigen kleinen Plagegeistern funktionieren die Birdnet Screens hervorragend!

Eric Greenslade, Ford-Ingenieur


Kraftwerk South Humber Bank, UK

"Galebreaker ist es gelungen, eine ineinandergreifende Matrix von Bildschirmen zu erstellen, die die Erwartungen an die Leistung der Station übertroffen und die unerwarteten wetterbedingten Ausfälle der Station vollständig beseitigt hat.

Malcolm Fleming, EP SHB Ltd Maschinenbauingenieur


Kraftwerk Dighton, Massachusetts

"Nach der Installation des Windschutzes konnte die Anlage eine Leistungssteigerung von 5% bei ihrer 50-MW-Dampfturbine verzeichnen. Die Windschirme zeigen eine gute Leistung. Die Überprüfung von Schnappschüssen der Anlagenleistung auf die Auswirkungen der Windschirme zeigt, dass unsere Daten eine Steigerung von etwa 2,9 MW für den kombinierten Zyklus ergeben.

Bob Bach, Dighton Instandhaltungsleiter


Atlantikstrom, Chicago

"Diese Bildschirme funktionieren hervorragend. Kurz nachdem die Westseite und das Nordende fertiggestellt waren, konnten wir einen fast sofortigen Schmelzprozess beobachten. Das Eis wurde auf der Innenseite und auf der Struktur beseitigt."

Ed Parker, Wartungsbeauftragter, Atlantic Power


Bahnhof North Battleford, Kanada

"Wir hatten windinduzierte Schwingungsauslösungen, wenn unsere Ventilatoren im Drehzahlbereich von 40 bis 70% betrieben wurden. Bis zu 40 bis 50 Lüfterauslösungen pro Tag! Das Hauptaugenmerk des Board-Operators lag darauf, die Ventilatoren am Laufen zu halten. Seit der Installation der Galebreaker Perimeter Wind Screens hatten wir überhaupt keine Lüfterauslösungen mehr (null) und haben unsere Probleme mit windinduzierten Lüfterauslösungen vollständig gelöst. Wir sind auch zuversichtlich, dass die Installation der Cruciform uns einen thermischen Effizienzgewinn von über 15% beschert."

Richard Pratchler - Wartungsleiter


Mystic Power Station, Boston

"Die ACC-Leistung vom Sommer 2013 wurde mit dem Sommer 2015 (vor und nach der Installation des Windschutzes) verglichen. Die Blöcke 8 und 9 konnten mit den Windschilden zusätzliche 15 bis 20 Megawatt erzeugen. Der Windschutz scheint bei Windgeschwindigkeiten von bis zu 20 Meilen pro Stunde am effektivsten zu sein, und bei einem konservativen Ansatz und typischen Sommerbedingungen scheint die Amortisation im Bereich von zwei bis drei Jahren zu liegen. Unsere Analyse geht nicht von Tagen mit hoher Last und extremen Temperaturen aus, an denen die Clearingpreise gelegentlich in die Hunderte von Dollar pro MW-Stunde steigen. Solche Tage würden die Amortisation erheblich beeinträchtigen.

John Avayzian, GenCo-Power


Rio Bravo Energiezentrum, Mexiko

"Das Projekt war ein großer Erfolg, denn der Windschutz hat sich vor allem bei hohen Temperaturen und an windigen Tagen bewährt. An einem Tag mit 30 Grad Celsius und Windgeschwindigkeiten von über 30 Stundenkilometern konnten wir eine Verbesserung des Unterdrucks um 20 Millibar und einen Zuwachs von 1,68 Megawatt im Vergleich zu einem ähnlichen Ereignis vor der Installation des Windschutzes feststellen.

Hector Moctezuma, Technischer Direktor, Falcon Group


Apex-Stromerzeugungsanlage, Las Vegas

"Am Wochenende hatten wir in Apex starken Wind. Normalerweise schalten sich die Lüfter auf der Südseite unter diesen Bedingungen ab, aber mit den eingebauten Windschutzscheiben schalteten sich die Lüfter nicht ab. Das zeigt, dass sich die Zuverlässigkeit verbessert hat. Wenn die Ergebnisse der geplanten thermischen Leistungsbewertung im Laufe des Jahres vorliegen, bin ich zuversichtlich, dass wir eine Verringerung des Gegendrucks und eine Verbesserung der Leistung feststellen werden. 

Chuck Amstutz, Wartungsleiter

Fallstudien

Home

Case Studies


References

Case Studies


References

Home > Industrial > References

Fadhili Power Station, Saudi Arabia

“Regarding the project update which we implemented in May 23, we avoided plant daily de-loading on high vacuum during high wind conditions during the summer operating period. We have not done thermodynamic modelling yet, as we were satisfied with the first-year performance which is reflected in plant availability. I would like to thank you and Galebreaker being the project partners, for this successful project at the Fadhili site. This has been noticed by some other assets in the Kingdom, who visited our site to learn more about the Galebreaker implemented solution, as they have been facing similar issues. In fact, I have shared your contact details with them as per their request, to discuss their own plant related CFD analysis”.

Muhammad Asim Ghafoor, Lead Performance and Reliability Engineer


Comanche Generating Station, Colorado

“I am not worried about Galebreaker’s guarantee; we’ve had their product installed for over 6 years without a single issue. I wanted their material because it is the best in the industry and will outlast everything we tried to use”.

Ruben Roman, Sr. Operations Manager, Xcel Energy.


Comanche Generating Station, Colorado

“The Galebreaker design and installation is all zero maintenance and is far superior than the plant designed screen we had made. We had continual maintenance issues with our home-made screens, especially with the cable ties pulling out in high winds. We would have saved time and money had we installed Galebreaker Wind Shields in the first place. Great job Galebreaker, a very professional product that solves our wind issues”

Ron Lungu, Comanche Plant Superintendent.


Caithness Long Island Energy Centre, USA

“Due to the severe storms we can experience at Long Island, the fan blades at Caithness have to cope with the stresses from high wind turbulence. After fitting Galebreaker Wind Shields it was immediately clear that more uniform airflow entered the windward side perimeter fans. Initial testing has shown significant stress reduction on the fan blades. This is great news for the Energy Center.”

Gary Mirsky, Independent Consultant.


Spalding Power Station, UK

“By 2006 we were experiencing significant performance issues with the ACC, and one of the main contributory factors were high wind speed conditions. Introducing Galebreaker Wind Shields as part of our ACC optimization programme has delivered excellent performance improvements throughout 2007 and 2008.”

Paul Hanson, Manager.


Hsin Tao, Taiwan

“During warm and windy conditions the ACC unit at Hsin Tao in Taiwan had performance problems, particularly poor vacuum measurements at the outlet of the steam turbine. After fitting the Galebreaker Wind Shields these specific issues were eliminated.”

Colin Popple, GE Facilities Manager.


Ford’s Driveability test facility, Michigan

“After the screens were installed, our problem was all but eliminated. There are still two very persistent pigeons that have found a hole and are able to sneak in, but other than those pesky little sneaks, the Birdnet Screens work great!

Eric Greenslade, Ford Engineer


South Humber Bank Power Station, UK

Galebreaker managed to create an interlocking matrix of screens that has exceeded station performance expectations and completely eradicated the unexpected weather related shut downs of the station”

Malcolm Fleming, EP SHB Ltd Mechanical Engineer


Dighton Power Plant, Massachusetts

“After the windscreen installation the plant has seen a 5% performance improvement on their 50 MW steam turbine. The wind screens are performing well. Reviewing plant performance snapshots on the effects of the wind screens our data shows around a 2.9 MW combined cycle increase.”

Bob Bach, Dighton Maintenance Manager


Atlantic Power, Chicago

“These screens are performing great.  Shortly after the west side and north end were completed, we saw an almost immediate melting process start.  The ice has been eliminated on the inside and on the structure.“

Ed Parker, Maintenance Supervisor, Atlantic Power


North Battleford Station, Canada

“We were having wind induced vibration trips when our fans were operating in the 40 to 70% speed range. Up to 40 to 50 fan trips per day! The board operator’s main focus was to keep the fans running. Since installation of the Galebreaker Perimeter Wind Screens we have not had any fan trips whatsoever (zero) and have completely solved our problems with wind induced fan tripping. We are also confident that the installation of the Cruciform will give us a thermal efficiency gain of over 15%”

Richard Pratchler – Maintenance Manager


Mystic Power Station, Boston

“The ACC performance from summer 2013 was compared to summer 2015 (before and after the wind shield installation). Units 8 & 9 have been able to produce an additional 15 to 20 megawatts with the windscreens in place. The screen appears to be most effective for wind speeds up to 20 miles an hour and using a conservative approach and typical summer conditions, the payback appears to be in the range of two to three years. Our analysis does not assume any high load extreme temperature days when clearing prices occasionally spike into the hundreds of dollars per MW hour. Days like these would affect pay back significantly”

John Avayzian, GenCo-Power


Rio Bravo Energy Center, Mexico

“The project has been a great success, the wind shield performance especially at high temperatures on windy days. On a 30 degree day when wind speeds exceeded 30 kilometres per hour, we saw improvement of the vacuum by 20 millibar and a gain of 1.68 megawatts compared to a similar event before windscreen installation”

Hector Moctezuma, Technical Operations Director, Falcon Group


Apex generating Station, Las Vegas

“Over the weekend we had some heavy winds at Apex. Normally the south side fans trip under these conditions, but with the windscreens in place, the fans didn’t trip. This demonstrates an improvement in reliability. When we have the results of the planned thermal performance assessment later this year, I have confidence that we will see a reduction in back pressure and a gain in performance. 

Chuck Amstutz, Maintenance Manager

Case Studies